About The California Lemon Law
A person who buys or leases a vehicle has various rights under both state and federal laws if the vehicle does not perform as provided under its express warranty. Because the lemon law can be complex, it is often difficult to label a vehicle as a lemon without the help of an experienced lemon law attorney. The following comments briefly explains what is considered a lemon under the Song Beverly Consumer Warranty Act and what is popularly known as the "California Lemon Law".
- The California lemon law protects consumer's who have purchased or leased a vehicle which turns out to be a lemon.
- Except for military personnel, the vehicle must be purchased and registered in the state where the lemon law claim is being made.
- It applies to all new vehicles for personal and most small business use.
- Used vehicles are also covered if it was purchased while still under the manufacturer's original new car warranty .
- A manufacturer approved repair facility must be given a reasonable number of repair attempts to fix the problem. Two (2) repair attempts if the problem is likely to cause serious bodily harm and four (4) attempts for the same or similar problem.
- The vehicle can also be considered a lemon if it has been in the hands of an authorized dealer, for more than 30 days during the first 18 months or 18,000 miles; AND is still not repaired.
Bringing in your vehicle at the first sign of a problem and keeping accurate documentation of repair attempts ensures that you get maximum compensation for your lemon vehicle. Any advice on how to proceed with a lemon law claim should always be discussed with an experienced attorney. The Law Offices of Delsack & Associates offer free consultations and can help you get rid of your lemon vehicle fast.